10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 6, 2012 2:51 PM by keywords

Totals in Portals

slraymond

I'm a novice, attempting to build a solution similar to the home budget template; except I have created a categories table, so there is a single master list of categories, rather than a new list created every month.

Here is the relationship graph:

Screen shot 2012-02-29 at 6.35.07 PM.png

I have created a tab control similar to that of the starter solution:

Screen shot 2012-02-29 at 6.34.51 PM.png

Note that the expense subcategories are being totaled together, not separately. What's my mistake?

• 1. Re: Totals in Portals
          LyndsayHowarth

It is the additional relationships, summary fields, calculations and sort orders which allow the breakdowns. You might also find the calculation function GetSummary() useful for this.

Perhaps you can post your database so we can see what you've actually done..

See below what appears to be missing:

- Lyndsay

homeBudget_chart.jpg

homebudgets1.jpg

• 2. Re: Totals in Portals
            comment

Since you are using tabs, you will be seeing only one category at a time. Therefore, you can simplify the relationship graph by using only a single relationship filtered by a global field. However, you need a mechanism to populate the global field when switching tabs. Fake tabs acting as buttons, placed above a single portal, are an easy to set up alternative.

• 3. Re: Totals in Portals
              comment

Lyndsay Howarth wrote:

You might also find the calculation function GetSummary() useful for this.

In a portal? I don't see how.

• 4. Re: Totals in Portals
                slraymond

Would this work if I had a separate table occurrence for each tab?

Or alternately, a model similar to the starter solution, but with a categories TO for each category type table?

• 5. Re: Totals in Portals
                  Stephen Huston