11 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2012 11:02 AM by g@briellelevenson

Function Help - Maybe Pattern?

matttandy

Hello! I am a long time FM PRO user, but limited in function building using anything outside of the easier ones. I need to extract info from the following sample data:

Save $1 on 1 steak sauce 10oz+

Save $1 on 1 bar 5pk Save $1 on 1 shake 4pk

Save $1 on 1 Ears treats Foot, Fruit Gushers, Fruit Roll-Ups

Save $.50 on 2 Fruit Shapes, Fruit by the

These are coupons typed into one field and I need to separate the amount saved ($1) into one field and the qty (1) in another field. The pattern is the same - Save $xx "ON" xx.

I know most of you can do this in your sleep. Please give me a starting point. I'm thinking PatternCount or maybe Middle.

Thanks for your help!

Matt

• 1. Re: Function Help - Maybe Pattern?

Hi Matt,

Can you guarantee that the pattern is always $(number)(space)on(space)quantity?

• 2. Re: Function Help - Maybe Pattern?
            MicheleOlson

Hi Matt,

Here is a possible solution, but there are some problems.

Formula for AmtSaved =

Let ( [ START = Position(test::text;"$";1;1)+1 ;

END = Position(test::text;"on";1;1)-1]

;

Middle ( test::text ; START ; END-START )

)

Formula for Qty=

Let ( [ START = Position(test::text;"on";1;1)+3 ;

END = Position(test::text;" ";1;4)]

;

Middle ( test::text ; START ; END-START )

)

The problems that will arise are that you can never be sure your entry people won't make typing errors and if'/when they do, the formulas will fail.

I am sure others will have better solutions, but this is a start for you.

Regards,

Michele

• 3. Re: Function Help - Maybe Pattern?
              matttandy