gobbles

Multiple sub-summary parts and fields on a single page.

Discussion created by gobbles on Mar 11, 2012
Latest reply on Jun 12, 2012 by gobbles

Hi,

I have been banging my head against a wall with this for some time. I am still kinda new to FM and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Some background:

I have a relational database that stores information about "clients" and "appointments"

We collect information such as "location", "background of clients", "languages spoken at home", "type of contact (phone, face-to-face)" etc.

At the end of each month we need to produce a report about the various types of clients and appointments that have been dealt with that month.

I have been given a fairly specific layout for the monthly report. I need to show breakdowns for each of a number of catagories as well as their totals.

For example:

southern outreach 5

main office 10

Northern Office 35

Languages spoken at home by clients;

russian 6

english 45

italian 2

etc...

I have to do this for a whole heap of catagories. I can do them individually, no problem. But I cannot for the life of me find a sensible way of having them all show within a reasonable layout.

I tried writing an elaborate script that sorts for each of the sub-summaries and than appeands the results to a PDF. This kind of works, however, filemaker insists on putting a page break after every append operation leaving far too much blank space. It has been rejected as I need to produce a more succinct report. Ideally only 1-2 pages. essentially i need each sub-summary to be a small table.

The only other thing I can think to do is write a long script that manually does the sub-summary calculations and dumps the entire result into a special "report table". However, this is not ideal at all as the contents of some of the fields are going to change over time and I wont always be around to fix the script.