7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2012 1:04 PM by dianadjones

Adding Layout to Starter Solution

dianadjones

Hi

I am using an "Invoice" starter solution. It has an invoice layout that is connected to "customer" and "products" data bases. I have adapted it to my needs and it works perfectly. I now need to add a layout for purchase orders and one for proposals. Both of these should work just like the invoice layout using data from the customer and products data bases.

Can anyone give me some pointers on how to get started? I seem to be getting the sequencing all wrong. I have been using FM 5 for many years, but am new to FM 11.

Thanks...Diana

• 1. Re: Adding Layout to Starter Solution
          timwhisenant

Hi Diana,

First, lets clarify what each addition is accually doing. A Purchase order in the strict sense of the term is an order from your company to buy goods and/or services from a vendor. Is this what you are wanting to add??

If infact you are looking for a layout to enter Purchase Orders received from your customer. That is a Sales order on your side of the transaction. The difference between the two makes a great deal of difference when you begin to create your tables and relationships to add the layout functionality.

Proposals are usually prose as apposed to a quote which appears more as a invoice of sorts. Does your proposal look more like a letter with paragaphs or an estimate with line items?

HTH

Tim

proof reading correction : Message was edited by: timwhisenant

• 2. Re: Adding Layout to Starter Solution
            dianadjones

Hi Tim

The purchase order is from our company to our vendors.  We have in our products data base all the items we use from several different companies.  We pull these products up by using the vendor item number, including our purchase price and discount, to include them in the purchase order.  I add items and make changes to the product list once or twice a year.