5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 2, 2012 1:15 PM by bumper

Exporting only modified records

mplent

I am new to scripting. Does anyone have a simple script to export only records that have been modified I can mess around with?

• 1. Re: Exporting only modified records
          taylorsharpe

You will first have to create a field that has a Timestamp of the last modified date/time for each record.  That way you can run a script that will search for any changes that have occurred since a specific date/time, which is probably the last time you ran the script.  You could store this date/time in another table so you know each time you run this script and can only search for records greater than the last date/time recorded.  The script is something you need to do after adding the modified date/time timestamp field as well as create another table to record when you last ran the script.  Just keep in mind that a script can only do what you can normally get around in FileMaker and do manually.  Knowing how to walk through the process manually is the first step to writing a script.  Probably someone will write you one as an example here, but I am not at a machine with FileMaker on it now.  However, if someone hasn't done it in the next day or two, I can do it for you. 

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Exporting only modified records
            mplent

Thank you for the reply.  I really appreciate the input!  Yes, I have already created the timestamp field.

Field Name: Date_ Modified   Type:Date    Options: Indexed, Modifcation Date

All of my previous scripting has been in dbase/foxpro.   I am just unfamiliar with how its done in filemaker.

I am looking to export only modified records to a .csv file so it can be uploaded to another database to record changes/modifications.  The other database is not filemaker.