2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 31, 2012 4:12 AM by beverly

Pull values from related table based on value.

scotty476

Hello I am a newbie and need some help.

I am working on a database with stock and prices. Table A is the stock itself and contains symbol, name, last price, and price date. Table B is the actual historical prices and contains symbol (how the relationship is conected), price, and as of date.

I would like to enter a date in table A and have it pull the corresponding price from table B. Ultimatley i will have a check box in table a to either enter a specific date or get the most recent prices.

One small issues is that a lot of these stocks will not be priced regularly and not on a consistant basis.

Any help would be appreciated.

Scotty

• 1. Re: Pull values from related table based on value.
          comment

1. IMHO, if you're going to have a table of Prices, then all prices - including the latest one - should be in that table.

2. If you add a global gDate field to the Stocks table and define a second relationship as:

Stocks::Symbol = Prices 2::Symbol

AND

Stocks::gDate = Prices 2::Date

the related Prices 2::Price field will show the price on the date entered into gDate.

3. If you modify the above relationship so that:

Stocks::gDate ≥ Prices 2::Date

and sort the related records from Prices 2 by Date, descending, the related Prices 2::Price field will show the price on or before the date entered into gDate.

• 2. Re: Pull values from related table based on value.
            beverly

Research 'Filtered Portal'. You can change what is seen based on a value set/unset. The Invoices starter solution has a contacts layout with a tab panel showing similar contacts based on name or city, for example. A value list uses radio buttons, but a checkbox could be used.

You set up a calculated key field, which changes with your selection(s). The key field is used in the relationship to the portal.