9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2012 4:25 PM by mcgeo52

Probably a simple problem

mcgeo52

I am a newbie at FM.

Working in FM Pro 11 I have set up a database using two tables (Venues and Songs) imported from Bento.

The objective is to be able to create and review set list of what I have played at various venues, and when each song was played. I have all of this in the Bento database,but FM Pro will mke it easier to use.

I need to have a link table, Performances, between Venues and Songs since the relationship between Venues and Songs is many to many.

Everything is set up in the database I have attached.

The problem is that neither the pop up menu for Venue nor the drop down list for Song will populate.

Anybody care to help a newbie?

• 1. Re: Probably a simple problem
          flusheddata

You are right and your database structure is ok.

In Performance table occurrence you have both Song ID and Venue ID, right? Those are foreing keys.

The problem is that the fields you have in Performance presentation are not those but the primary keys from their respective table occurrences (Songs and Venues).

Also the Valuelist Venue list was not set up.

Kind regards,

• 2. Re: Probably a simple problem
            mcgeo52

Ok, you understand the problem. I do not undersatnd your answer.

What do I need to do to make the Venues work, step by step. I said I'm a newbie.

Let's get Venues working and I should hopefully be able to do Songs on my own.Specifically:

Which Table::Field do I select for "Display data from"?

I assume I need a value list.

Which Table::Field do I select for the first field in VenuesList?

Which Table::Field do I select (if any) for the second field in VenuesList?

Is there anything else I need to do to make this work?

• 3. Re: Probably a simple problem
              PSI

Hi mcgeo52,

Welcome!