4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2012 7:36 AM by thomas_staehli

can I update FMP 11 advanced to 12 pro?

zinny

Hi, stupidly when I bought FMP 11 advanced but didn't pony up for pro. Can I just update straight to 12 pro?

I am a hoby developer with mainly personal projects (and an new baby) and couldn't justify a full new purchase and am keen to get pro

Thanks

• 1. Re: can I update FMP 11 advanced to 12 pro?
          davidempson

Judging from the obvious pages on the FileMaker store, you cannot upgrade from FileMaker Pro Advanced to a later non-Advanced version of FileMaker Pro.

See FileMaker Pro in the online store, select the Upgrade option, and note that it doesn't list "FileMaker Pro 11 Advanced" (or any other version) as a qualifying product.

The other way around is possible - you can upgrade from Pro to Pro Advanced (again, select the Upgrade option).

You can of course upgrade from Pro Advanced to a later version of Pro Advanced.

At this point you have at least these choices:

(a) Buy FileMaker Pro 12 at full price (US$299). This will give you separate licences of FMP11A and FMP12, so you can install and run both at the same time.

(b) Pay for the upgrade to FileMaker Pro 12 Advanced (also US$299). This will replace your existing licence, allowing you to install either FMP11A or FMP12A, but not both at the same time.

(c) Sell your FMP11A on the second hand market, and buy a new copy of FileMaker Pro 12. You might even get a little money back. Note that if selling a FileMaker product, you need to get a licence transfer form from the FileMaker web site, and send the form to FileMaker Inc. (I'd have to go hunting for a link.)

(d) Contact FileMaker customer support and see if they can offer you any other options. For example, they might be willing to "downgrade" your Pro 11 Advanced to plain Pro 11 (issuing you a new licence key) for a small fee, and then you can pay US$179 to upgrade to Pro 12.

• 2. Re: can I update FMP 11 advanced to 12 pro?