6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 30, 2012 6:03 PM by karendweaver

Change the selected record when in list view

joshnh

I'm fairly new to working with FileMaker, so forgive the incorrect terminology.

The main portal for the database shows a series of camp bookings in date order. However, when viewing the portal, the selected record is always the record that was created first (which happens to be in the middle of the year).

Is there any way to change the record that is selected by default when viewing a portal?

NOTE: I'm working on FileMaker Pro 10 Advanced.

• 1. Re: Change the selected record when viewing a portal
          MicheleOlson

Hi joshnh,

You have two easy choices: sort the relationship or sort the portal on the layout.

To sort the relationship, in the relationship graph double click the relationship indicator on the line between the tables. In the next window, choose the Sort option at the bottom on the side of the table you want to sort and select the fields.

To sort the portal, in the layout double-click the portal, then select the Sort portal records option and specify the fields.

HTH,

Michele

• 2. Re: Change the selected record when viewing a portal
            karendweaver

Josh

What do you mean by "selected record". If you are "viewing" a portal - no portal record is selected.  Are you trying to perform some action based on a specific record in the portal?  If so - you need to "select" the record first, otherwise, FM will return the first record in the relationship.  If you only need to select the most recent record, then Michele's sorting suggestion should do the trick.  But if you need to be able to select various rows for this purpose, then you need to do something else.

If you are trying to "select" a portal record and then perform an action, you can capture the portal row number or the record ID of the related record - and then use that information to "select" the record you want ot interact with.