5 Replies Latest reply on May 30, 2012 7:13 AM by rhlilienkamp

Need help with Multi level relationships

scotty476

I am new to filemaker so please go easy.

Here is the scenario:

We have a family of clients that makes investments in a series of projects. Sometimes these clients invest directly and sometimes they create a company to invest in the projects and most of the time it is some combination of both.

There are several occasions where my clients have companies that invest in other companies that make investments and the companies can have several owners.

Ideally we want to maintain a list of individuals and companies and their direct ownership (one level down) whether it be another company or individual.

We would like to use that list to determine who actually owns what at the individual level or the company level. These can have 4 or more levels of ownership e.g. Project A is owned by CompanyC ->Which is owned CompanyB -> which is owned by CompanyA -> which is owned by a group of Individuals. The companies and indivduals can be on any level.

Is there a good way to do this in filemaker with the unknown number of and varying levels of ownership.

I hope this makes sense.

Thanks for you help,

Scotty

Using FM 12

• 1. Re: Need help with Multi level relationships
          Mike_Mitchell

Hi, Scotty. Welcome to FileMaker.

This kind of situation is really a data modeling problem moreso than a FileMaker problem. In other words, how do I set up my data tables and fields to track what I want? (And that's independent of technology, for the most part.)