10 Replies Latest reply on May 18, 2012 1:29 PM by thewoz

Little help for a newb

kwrigh

I am new to Filemaker Pro. Could someone help me in creating one report with a common columnar format from multiple excel documents?

I have several excel documents that all have a common columnar layout, however some of them have subtotals, totals, blanks etc. in the rows. I would like to import each of these files, maintaining the column layout but eliminate all the sub total, total and blank rows and create one combined report. I have done some of the training, but have not seen how to do this exactly and don't have much time. Thanks to anyone for help.

Kim

• 1. Re: Little help for a newb
          wrwaugh

With the little information you provided it is hard to respond with clarity.  I would offer the following.  If all the data in the colums is the same, then you can make a Filemaker database which has a table with appropriate fields to capture the informatio from the excel tables. 

Now you can open each excel sheet with FileMaker which will result in making new FIleMaker database files (converted from Excel) wherein each column will be a field and each row of the Excel table will be a record in FileMaker. 

Going to your original FileMaker file you can import the resords from the converted Excel FileMaker files.  One file after another.

Now all the data is in one FileMaker file and you can create the necessary calculation and summary fields to create the report you need.

• 2. Re: Little help for a newb
            atlascott

It sounds like you have multiple Excel spreaheets with similar data types and you want all of them to to go into one database, and then do reporting and summarizing on all of the data.  If so, here are the steps you need to do.

1.  Create a new database.

2. Go to Manage->Database.

3.  Name your Table whatever you'd like.

4.  Define Fields in the Table.  Generally, name them what you column headings are named in your excel spreadsheets.