8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2013 7:01 AM by timcimbura

Web Viewer and Google Mapping

ajayz

Hello everyone,

I was wondering if any one can help with a web viewer formating issue.

I want to plot a GPS coordinate on a google map, which i've done, however its not in a user friendly format on my screen. It comes up with all the Google toolbars etc, and you can't clearly see the location on the map?

I want to only see the MAP with the location positon in the middle of the box and nothing else. I'm new to filemaker and really don't know where to start... I know it can be done as i've seen some filemaker templates and they only show the map however I couldn't work it out.

Filemaker WebViewer.jpg

• 1. Re: Web Viewer and Google Mapping
          thewoz

I use a bare bones web viewer field for this same purpose.

Set up a web viewer field and specify the following web address:

"http://maps.google.com/maps?q=" & GpsExample::LatitudeWgs1984 & ",+" & GpsExample::LongitudeWgs1984 & "+(" & GpsExample::PointName & ")" & "&iwloc=near&hl=en&ie=UTF8&t=h&z=12&output=embed"

GpsExample::LatitudeWgs1984 is a field that specifies latitude in WGS 1984 decimal degrees (the modern standard).

GpsExample::LongitudeWgs1984 is a field that specifies latitude in WGS 1984

GpsExample::PointName is a field that specifies a point name.

You can control the scaling by changing the number in the last sequence "12&output=embed" to a different number. Try changes of +2 or -2 to see the difference.

It's important not to mess up the syntax.

There are more sophisticated ways to do this but this technique requres little overhead

Change the parameter &t=h...  near the end to &m=m to specify a map rather than terrain view. There are a few other options with this parameter but I don't remember what they are. I always use the terrain view for my work.

I've attached an example file (FileMaker Pro 11). Happy Mt. St. Helens anniversary.

Good luck.

• 2. Re: Web Viewer and Google Mapping