10 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2012 7:40 AM by datastride

FMDevCon - Should I be a first time attender?

jbrown

Hey all,

i've posted a bit on here, but i'm pretty new to the developer's scene.

Developing my database for the past few years, I know what I don't know, but am not sure what my next steps are.

Should I attend the Dev Con? Its quite a bit of money for a person of my situation: A developer for my school system with no continuous education support. The work I've done is to join this group, pay the 100 bucks, get a subscription over at Matt P's site, buy at least 5 books (fm 12 Missing Manual & the new Developer's reference manual are preordered).

Shouid I spend my own money to get better at the system i'm developing for the school that doesn't give me support?

I see the classes there, they all look great. I wish i could attend all of them?

What else will I expect to see there? Will I get to talk with you there?

Is it worth it for a part-time developer (on a scale of 1 to 10 (expert) i'm at about a 4 I'd say)? Is the conference geared for developers like me or the FM die-hards?

I need to be convinced that spending the $2000 plus is worth it... Will FM give me a teacher discount to the conference ?

Thanks

• 1. Re: FMDevCon - Should I be a first time attender?
          bandmandq

I can sure relate to your situation.  I have developed for a school music organization for several years.  Always hope I will make it to DevCon some day.  I am now retired from teaching but still work for the music organization.  It is also small and they have a lot of FM stuff at a pretty cheap price.  (But then they have also suffered at my mistakes but are also appreciative of what they have.

I personally think you could learn a lot from attending and that it would take you to the next level.  But I also can relate to spending your own money to help out your school that does not have the funds to pay you for all of your work.

hope this helps!