I found this item in the Help document of version 12 changes:
"The addition or deletion of fields after field mapping no longer affects the sort order in import target files."
Does it mean what I think? I have many scripted imports between FileMaker tables, and I have always been terrified of deleting fields for fear of disrupting my scripted imports. Instead, I rename them "unused" and leave them in place. Does this feature change mean I can now safely delete fields from tables without disrupting scripts?
Yes this is what the new feature means. Your import order will no longer be effected by field changes in the table. Nice to see they finally got this fixed.