1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Jun 2, 2012 11:28 AM by erolst

Indicating selected record in a portal

johannes

Hi all,

I have a portal and want to indicate, by means of a little triangle, which record has been selected. Does anyone have a clue how I could do that e.g. include a field or button in the portal which can be conditionally modified by a script? I am using Filemaker Pro 12 Advanced and I have to say, I am fairly new to Filemaker. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks to all

Hans

• 1. Re: Indicating selected record in a portal
          AdamGlick

easiest way is to use the "Go to Portal Row" script function after you've set the selected portal row to a variable. Then in the Go to Portal Row script step you can specify which row and you would provide your variable. Filemaker will then highlight the row.

Note, this only works consistently if you have only one portal on your layout. If you have more than one, you need to establish focus on the correct portal or use another mechanism which would allow you to specify the selection using a calulated graphic...

...which, if you really need a little triangle to appear is the way you would have to do it.

• 2. Re: Indicating selected record in a portal
            johannes

Thanks for the quick reply.

The proposal seems an elegant way to achieve the goal.Unfortunately I do have more than one portal on the layout.

So, it seems that I would have to investigate calculated graphics. Would I insert such a graphic into the portal row by script or would I include a field or button in the portal layout and fill it by a script? Of course it would have to disappear or go blank if the row selection changes. Any idea?

• 3. Re: Indicating selected record in a portal
              AdamGlick

1. create a global field of type container and use that to store the graphic you want

2. create a calculated field of type container that has a calculation like this: