3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2012 5:33 AM by Mike_Mitchell

Common Headers

user17584

Hi All,

Started developing in FileMaker yesterday and after a very long night (I think I slept!) I am really pleased with what I have achieved.

One thing I am wondering;

I have 6 layouts for my internal system. I would like the ‘header’ area on all 6 layouts to be identical in both height and content. Is there a quick way to do this? I have been copying and pasting between then and using the keyboard to nudge positions, but that seems really cumbersome and somewhat inaccurate! Being a PHP developer I am use to utilising includes to set common content between pages.

Thanks in advance,
      Ben

• 1. Re: Common Headers
          Mike_Mitchell

Hello Ben. Welcome.

The easiest way to create a duplicate area on a new layout is to duplicate the layout (Layout menu). If you want a common template, it might be easiest to create one for each common layout view (Browse, Layout, and / or Table) and set them aside without any other elements, then duplicate them when you need a new layout.

This does, of course, create an issue if you want to make a change to that common layout - you'll have to make the same change to all the layouts - but at least making a new layout is very quick and easy.

Also, take a look at the Guides options in Layout mode. You can place a set of Guides on your layouts that's shared across all layouts. Turn on Snap to Guides and it becomes much easier to align all your elements to the same place.

HTH

Mike

• 2. Re: Common Headers
            user17584

Thanks Mike.

The guides have been a great help, thank you.

I am recreating our internal admin system, which I previously developed in PHP.

Really enjoying the speed and simplicity of FileMaker.

I know I have some challenging bits coming up though!

Any good online resources you can point me too?

• 3. Re: Common Headers
              Mike_Mitchell

Online resources ... for what?