8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2012 11:10 AM by comment

Tab Panel in a Portal issue

TimGriffith

[Working with current updated version FMPA on update OS X Lion]

I had a portal with lots of fields. The portal worked properly. I organized the fields into logical groups and created a tab panel in the portal, with each panel housing the original fields from the original portal. I made sure there is ample distance from the edges of the tab panel to the parameter of the portal (and ample distance from the fields to the parameter of the tab panel). Now in browse mode I only get the first related record from the portal, and when scrolling, the portal shows empty rows scrolling up as usual, but disappearing under the first (populated) portal row. I have never tried tab panels in portal rows before this. Is this a limitation in FMPA 11? - or is there a technique someone may know to achieve functioning tab panels in portals rows. TIA

• 1. Re: Tab Panel in a Portal issue
          TimGriffith

Correction [Working with current updated FMPA 11 on updated OS X Lion]

• 2. Re: Tab Panel in a Portal issue
            TimGriffith

I have continued testing and have come to the conclusion that tab panels belong to the layout and therefore cannot belong to a portal row. Is this any different in version 12?

• 3. Re: Tab Panel in a Portal issue
              wsvp

I don't believe that tab panels will work that way in portals...  However they will work on a list of records in list view... You can set up a tab in the body part and it will change the tab in all records together... You can also have a tab in the header, body and footer, set up a trigger so if you change one tab the others will change to the selected object.

The main difference I have noticed regarding portals ( other than the new graphics options ) ... from FM11 to FM12... is that objects in a portal now stay with the portal when moving or deleting.  This is an improvement in my opinion.