12 Replies Latest reply on Jul 13, 2012 8:51 AM by petertj

How do I create a school timetable in Filemaker 11?

andrewmcc

I want to create a database to track the absences of teaching staff and allocate colleagues to cover their classes when they are off. As part of this I want to include the master timetable in the database. I am having difficulty with this. I don't know how to set up the classes so they they repeat, say every Tuesday at 11.00am from now until 31 May 2013. Can someone help me?

I am also planning the following tables in my database. I am looking for advice on whether this is sensible. Any advice gratefully received. I am new to this. I am working my way through the tutorials but I hope someone here can help!

Table 1 = Staff

__pkStaffID

Title

Surname

Forename

PostName

Department

ContractType

NonContactAllocation

NonContactActual

Table 2 = Attendance/Absence

__pkAbsenceID

StartDate

EndDate

CategoryofAbsence

Times

Reason

Table 3 = Classes

__pkClassID

_fkStaffID

ClassName

Department

Room

MeetingTimes

Any advice gratefully received.

Thanks

Andrew

• 1. Re: How do I create a school timetable in Filemaker 11?
          Claw'd

There are quite a number of relationships between these groups of data.

One teacher can teach many subjects

One subject can be taught by many teachers

Each class has only one teacher

One teacher can teach many classes

One class may have several hours (in a week)

At one particular day and hour, there may be several classes

A class is about one subject

One subject may be taught in many classes

One teacher can have many absences

One absence can affect many classes

So a many to many between Teachers and Subjects

A one to many between Teachers and Classes

A many to many between classes and class hours

And a join back between Subjects and Classes

Each many to many join has a joining Table with two foreign keys.