1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Jul 16, 2012 11:09 AM by bookman

Count 2 Fields Combined

bookman

What does a calculation look like that counts the number of records with a Date Created 2012 but omits or is constrained by a field called Selected as a Previewer?

Should the field type be a Calculation or a Summary?

The result should be a Number.

I keep getting error messages re: field doesn't exist, wrong function, or needs an operator.

I am a novice, this is the first time I've tried to create a calculation, but I'm good at following directions.

I'm guessing my errors are related to the "parentheses" or the position of "not" or the "2012" in the Date Created, or whatever.

The attachment shows my last attempt.

Please help.

Mel

PS. My last posting was marked as a question with a 15-minute time limit. I hope this didn't cause a problem. This posting supersedes it.

• 1. Re: Count 2 Fields Combined
          Stephen Huston

It's not clear what you want to output from the calculation, so I am taking a wild shot here.

Your calc should probably be a Case statement so it can return more than one possibility.

• ie. Case ( is empty ( your field to test here) and [condition of other field here] ; "true" ; "false" )

When you declare a test on a field, you must spell out what that test is comparing with, such as is it empty, is the count greater than a specific number, etc.

Take a look at the Help section in FileMaker's Help menu and see the examples for the various calculation functions to learn how they are properly formed.

If you want to provide details of what you want to test for and what type in info a field might include here, people will usualy help you sort it out.

And, when in doubt, use Text as the calculation result type unless you provide other results yourself or return a specific field as the result, in which case use that field's data type.

• 2. Re: Count 2 Fields Combined
            comment

Why post the same question twice?