1 2 3 Previous Next 139 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2015 2:08 AM by CarstenLevin

Bye bye Filemaker

After more than 20 years of working with filemaker, more than 12 years as an independent developer i finally gave up on filemaker.

I had enough

• of the endless workarounds
      • of the endless problems
      • of the ignorance from filemaker to acknowledge any problems
      • of the persistence from filemaker not to address any known bugs and problems
      • to be put off to the next version just to discover that it was made worse than ever
        (i.e. new "useful features" like gradients and bubble diagrams, but printing in general rendered FMP12.0.2 useless)
      • of paying technet and fba fees and the privilege to be ignored and never listened to by filemaker
        (so i will not renew any memberships anymore)
      • to be a beta-tester that even pays to test rubbish-releases, wasting a lot of time in doing so and any input being ignored

In outermost consequence i gave up my filemaker business - now looking forward to happier days.

Have a happy devcon and dream of any improvement that will never come

Daniel Wilhelm

Datasol Wilhelm

www.datasol.ch

PS: I'm pretty sure that filemaker will also ignore this last post from me :-)

• 1. Re: Bye bye Filemaker
          jasongodoy

Hi Daniel,

What technology or technologies do you plan to replace FileMaker with?

• 2. Re: Bye bye Filemaker
            marianco

Too bad you did not tell us what alternative to FileMaker you will use.

After all, despite it's warts, FileMaker does have its strong points. Like many things in engineering, it is about achieving the best compromise when developing the best product you can. And, using the best tool for any given purpose. FileMaker isn't the best for every purpose.

Possible FileMaker replacements that come to mind for Mac OS X: