10 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2012 3:31 PM by TimDietrich

Issue with updating a SQL Server ODBC record, cursor problem

cmsmith.acutec

Hi - a FileMaker newbie here.

I'm using FileMaker Pro Advanced 12 (on Windows 7 Pro x64) and have added an ODBC connection to my project. I can see all of the tables from my local SQL Server Express install, I can create relationships, I can even add data to them through their generic FileMaker layouts. Something strange happens though after I create a new record and then go back and edit any value in that record and try to create something new. I get this ODBC error:

FileMaker Pro Advanced_2012-08-13_15-56-01.png

The only thing I can do to get out of this error message is hit 'OK' and then completely delete the record. I have Google the crap out of this and have come up with nothing. It appears that this is an issue within FMP's SQL, but I wanted to bring it to the community to see if anyone has dealt with this.

Any help would be great with this. I want to use FMPA for a nice iPad interface, but I can't even get something simple to work.

• 1. Re: Issue with updating a SQL Server ODBC record, cursor problem
          beverly

Please specify the ODBC driver that you used.

Beverly

• 2. Re: Issue with updating a SQL Server ODBC record, cursor problem
            cmsmith.acutec

I have tried SQL Server, SQL Server Native Client 10.0, and SQL Server Native Client 11.0.

• 3. Re: Issue with updating a SQL Server ODBC record, cursor problem
              cmsmith.acutec

I still can't get this to work. Has anyone had this issue?

As far as I can tell this is FileMaker not handling some sort of logic correctly. I cannot use it at all to access any SQL Server data on my Windows 7 Pro machine.

• 4. Re: Issue with updating a SQL Server ODBC record, cursor problem
                beverly

More details please.

What SQL Server (& version)?

What ODBC driver (& version)?

On what OS are you setting the DSN?