6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 24, 2012 2:13 AM by thermograph

Script question, help please

thermograph

Hello,

I'am a complete newbie in Scripting for FMPro 12.

Could someone help me start in the good direction...

• When opening the database, the cursor must stay per default in the field "Barcode"
      • When the numerical string (from a barcode reader) arrives, a search must be launched for searching the corresponding barcode in the field "ISBN"
      • When this is found, the whole article must be displayed on the screen.
      • Then the field "barcode" must be left blank.

As an example I was using FM GO! with "Quick Find" or "Enter Find Mode" as a manual methode...

How to start with that, is a script the right way...

Thanks for your help!

• 1. Re: Script question, help please
          thomas_staehli

Hi,

This is a pretty easy task in FM using script triggers. There are different ways to do this, but I guess I would do it like this:

1) Create a global field "BarcodeSearch"

2) Set up "OnLayoutEnter" (in the layout script triggers) to launch a simple script that would do "go to Field (BarcodeSearch)". If you want the cursor to stay inside at all time (even when clicking outside), you can use another trigger "OnObjectExit" that would lauch the same script that goes back to the field.

3) Set up OnObjectModify to launch a script that would search for that barcode in the ISBN field and empty the BarcodeSearch field. Make sure that you add a condition in your search script to "exit script" at the beginning if the BarcodeSearch field is blank.

I'm not sure 100% that this would work as I don't have a Barcode scanner, but this is definitely what I would try first.

I hope this will help.

• 2. Re: Script question, help please
            thermograph

Thanks Thomas,

I'll give it a try...

Best regards,

Marc

• 3. Re: Script question, help please
              thermograph

Hi Thomas,

I have no "OnObjectModify" in my scripttriggers.