12 Replies Latest reply on Sep 1, 2012 4:41 AM by gdurniak

Will conversion to FMP12 clean up a corrupt FP7 file?

Stephen Huston

Does anyone know enough about under-the-hood workings of the FP7-to-TMP12 conversion process to know if the resulting file will be free of corruption?

I have a potential client whose FP7 file running on FMServer10 was known to contain corruption more than a year before I was put in touch with them, and they have no clean backups. They resist a rebuild because of the expense. I guess they believe you shoudn't treat a sick patient until he dies!

Anyone with enough knowledge of the conversion process under-pinnings to offer some informed speculation about whether converting to 12 will actually solve any or all FP7 corruption?

• 1. Re: Will conversion to FMP12 clean up a corrupt FP7 file?
          chefportal

Well I am no expert by any means, but if you fill a clean bucket with dirty water, it too will be dirty. I was told by a developer friend of mine to back up the corrupt file then run a recover file. Then save as clone and import all tables from backup. You will still need to go through file to fix any lost scripts, layouts ect. but will be better than the original corrupt file. (As I said I’m no expert, so I can take criticisms on my posting)

• 2. Re: Will conversion to FMP12 clean up a corrupt FP7 file?
            Malcolm

Does anyone know enough about under-the-hood workings of the FP7-to-TMP12 conversion process to know if the resulting file will be free of corruption?

Would it be sufficient to do a conversion then run the recovery test on the newly converted file?

malcolm

• 3. Re: Will conversion to FMP12 clean up a corrupt FP7 file?
              gdurniak

With each version conversion, FileMaker has always stated that "The resultant FileMaker files should be corruption free", but there are no guarantees

It is worth a try.  It also helps if you know what is "corrupt", and it's repeatable, so you can test it yourself