6 Replies Latest reply on Sep 7, 2012 5:05 AM by jbante

Lock layout in landscape on iPad

ajayz

Hello.

I'm still finding my way around FileMaker as I've started moving from Microsoft Access and there are a few tricks I don't know yet.

Questions:

A) I have created a database that runs on the iPad in a landscape format. I want to lock the layout on the iPad to only landscape, I don't want they layout to chanage when turned to portrait

B) I also would like to know if its possible to have two different layout (Landscape and portrait) and how I go about making the iPad select the correct layout when the ipad is rotated - if possible?

ps remember I'm new to FileMaker and hence required a detailed response.

• 1. Re: Lock layout in landscape on iPad
          beverly

ajayz, there are similar threads on this forum. I searched for 'rotate' or 'landscape'. See if these help:

1. https://fmdev.filemaker.com/message/82402#82402

Subject:      Not allowing Filemaker Go to switch from landscape to portrait

Date:      May 17, 2012

2. https://fmdev.filemaker.com/message/89720#89720     

Subject:      Just For Fun:  Triggering a script on iPad rotation

Date:      July 28, 2012

3. https://fmdev.filemaker.com/message/68496#68496

Subject:      Auto change layout pending Portrait or Landscape

Date:      January 28, 2012

Beverly

• 2. Re: Lock layout in landscape on iPad
            ajayz

Thanks for the reply, however the point 1 - had no replies (which suits my first question)' the others weren't that helpful either.

I'm after just a simple solution to stop portrait on an form within my database to start with.

• 3. Re: Lock layout in landscape on iPad
              jbante