1 2 3 4 Previous Next 46 Replies Latest reply on Sep 13, 2012 11:10 AM by jormond

500 fields in a table?

redzwanlatif

Hi. I'm a new developer and I'm working on my first custom project. I got a table which have 500 fields in it. Some of my Filemaker friends told me that it's not good to have 500 fields in one table. Some people told me to store these as 500 records in a single table instead of 500 fields in a single table. But If I follow the 500 records method, I wont be able to build a graphical periodontal chart (refer to the attachment) like this. And of course, the users wants it to be fast. So I thought of building the periodontal chart in other .fmp12 file and link it to the original db. But after I added the external FM data. All the 500 fields went empty and I need to set all the 500 fields again. Any other recommendations, methods or ideas to build this periodontal chart?

Thank you

• 1. Re: 500 fields in a table?
          gdurniak

for use on an internal GB network, it probably won't matter

it might get a bit slow, if you ever need to use it over the internet

you could also try one "repeating" field for each tooth,  which would lower the field count to about 96

greg

> Some people told me to store these as 500 records in a single table

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: 500 fields in a table?
            RubenVanDenBoogaard

Hi,

500 fields in one table is no problem. It is probably not elegant, nor easy to handle, but should be no problem.

What could be a good solution is to use repeating fields to store the different elements of the charts in.

a setup could be to store the pictures of het standing teeth in a repeating field with 4 x 16 = 64 repetitions

then store the names in a field x 64, the first field on tooth x 64, second field on tooth x 64 third field on tooth x 64

that would store 320 fields in just 5 repeating fields.  The first tooth is in repetition 1, the second in 2 and so on.