7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 14, 2012 3:00 PM by DavidJondreau

Which Filemaker is right for me?

cat

This may seem like a stupid question but I am very new to this. I have offered to create a Filemaker Database for my company All Around Senior Services. All of our employees work in the field and use iPhones and eventually they would like to get iPads for everyone. I know that the Filemaker Go will be beneficial. Before I ask them to purchase the appropriate software I need to know which one will be right for them. There are currently 11 employees that will need access to the database on the go. I noticed that Filemaker Pro only allows 9 users. Does this mean they will need to purchase Filemaker Server?

Thanks so much for the help.

• 1. Re: Which Filemaker is right for me?
          ibrahim_bittar

Hi cat

According with what you say, you'd need the following:

1. A server. A Mac Mini Server will do fine. If you have lots of bandwidth you can use a virtual server. Check VPS, for example.
          2. FileMaker Server, the "regular" version. Not Advanced.
          3. FileMaker Pro for each desktop/laptop user, FileMaker Go for each iPad/iPhone user.
          4. FileMaker Pro Advanced for you. This is VERY important.
          5. You should get some FileMaker training. There are a number of options, check what suits best for you.

Sorry if I was too obvious with the server, some don't realize they need a server to run FileMaker Server .

I think you're covered with this. Let us know if you need something else.

Regards.

• 2. Re: Which Filemaker is right for me?
            cat

Thanks for the response.  I had no idea I needed ALL of that, wow.  So why can I not get away with just using the regular FileMaker Pro?

• 3. Re: Which Filemaker is right for me?
              LyndsayHowarth

What are the chances of all your field workers using the database at exactly the same time? If the answer is 'all 11' then yes... you need Server.