5 Replies Latest reply on Sep 18, 2012 8:57 AM by taylorsharpe

serial data

ctekin

I am not sure if this is the correct forum for this but any help would be appreciated.

I am looking for a plugin that will read the data off of a standard serial port and auto enter it into a record in FM12.

I am using the standard comport 1 with 8N1 settings.

My goal here is to read the serial port, enter it into a record and then email me that record once this has been created.

I hope someone can point me in the right direction as I am new to FM.

Thank you

• 1. Re: serial data
          ibrahim_bittar

Hi

May be these two will do the trick for you:

http://www.24usoftware.com/Phidgets

http://troi.com/software/serialplugin.html

Hope it helps.

Regards

Ibrahim

• 2. Re: serial data
            ctekin

Ibrahim,  Trio looks like it will do what i'm looking for to get the data.  I do have another question that i'm hoping you can help with. 

I currently have 2 scripts running which all work when i execute them manually. 

Script 1 = Trio getting the data from the serial port

script 2 = emailing me the data recieved.

I am looking trying to find a way to have FM create a new record each time data is pulled from trio, then having this auto emailed to me. 

I dont know if this is possible or if a script exists that will auto check every so many seconds/minutes/etc. Any help would be appreciated. 

In the mean time, I will be reading alot of posts.

Thanks in advance

Cihat

• 3. Re: serial data
              taylorsharpe