10 Replies Latest reply on Nov 5, 2012 12:29 AM by comment

How to add a join table to an existing file

pgrehan

I am new to Filemaker and having been learning by doing. The only problem with this approach is that I sometimes recognize my mistakes long after I have made them. I recently realized that I wanted a join table between tables that were previously not directly related.

The file currently has three tables relevant to my question: "Session" and "Payment" tables are each directly related to a "Client" table. I previously thought that I had no need to relate sessions and payments. I was wrong. (this is where I dope slap myself)

To fix this, I want to create a join table between "Session" and "Payment", but I am concerend about the impact of doing so on the existing data (and relationships, scripts, etc) in my file.

I assume I need to:

1. Create a join table between sessions and payments.

Do I simply delete the old relationship between Clients and Payments or create a new table occurance for Payments?

2. Delete existing "payment" records and re-enter this data (assuming this will populate the join table)

3. Update all scripts, portals, etc. to work with the new relationship.

This "sounds" straightforward.

Did I miss any steps? Any problems I need to avoid? Any hints or tips in working with join tables?

I appreciate any guidance

Thanks

Patrick

• 1. Re: How to add a join table to an existing file
          PSI

Hi Patrick,

Unless there is a lot more going on I see no need for a join table. You can have payments connected to client and session you just need the client ID and the Session ID in the payments table in order to see payments from either table. It is normal to show the payments a specific client has made and those payments are most likely entered in relation to a specific session.