14 Replies Latest reply on Nov 14, 2012 11:17 AM by Lemmtech

Is it possible to import data from multiple tables at once?

kelpgriffin

I have Contact Information and Notes in separate tables; is it possible to import data into separate tables at once?

• 1. Re: Is it possible to import data from multiple tables at once?
          NancyBotkin

Hi-

You can only import into one table at a time. When I have a complex import to make, I'll create a temporary table and then write a series of scripts to put the data into the correct places in my database. For example, if the data to import contains a note field in the contacts table, I'll move it into the temporary table that has contacts and notes, then after the import I'll move the notes to the notes table.

Hope that helps,

-Nancy

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Is it possible to import data from multiple tables at once?
            kelpgriffin

Nancy,

This is helpful, but I'm totally new to this stuff.  I have an excel document that contains contact information (First Name, Last Name, Addresses, etc.) and a unique note about each contact.  I'd like to add this information to FMP such that the contact information is correctly entered into the contact table, and the notes (as tied to each contact) are correctly entered into the notes table.

Do you have a sample script I could use to accomplish this?

Thank you!

-Griffin

• 3. Re: Is it possible to import data from multiple tables at once?
              NancyBotkin

Is this import something you'd be doing only once or on a regular basis?

• 4. Re: Is it possible to import data from multiple tables at once?
                comment

kelpgriffin wrote:

I have an excel document that contains contact information (First Name, Last Name, Addresses, etc.) and a unique note about each contact.

That's not quite clear: is it possible for a contact to have multiple notes and if so, how?  If not, why would the notes be in a separate table?