7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 2, 2012 6:34 PM by Stephen Huston

calculations

spundir

Hi

I am very new to filemaker and dont know much about scripting and calculation.

I am trying to create two fields where :

If one field (A) is filled then the user cannot leave the second field (B which is a date field) empty but

If the field (A) is empty then the field (B) also stays empty.

Can someone tell me how i will go about achieving this?

Many thanks in advance

• 1. Re: calculations
          jbante

Do these two things to fieldB under the field options in Manage Database:

1. In the Auto-Enter tab, select "Calculated value", and specify the calculation: "If ( IsEmpty ( fieldA ) ; "" /* Null */ ; /* Else */ Self )". Back in the field options uncheck the "Do not replace existing value of field (if any)" checkbox. This will clear any value in fieldB if fieldA is empty.
          2. In the Validation tab, select "Validated by calculation", and use this calculation: "IsEmpty ( fieldA ) or ( not IsEmpty ( A ) and not IsEmpty ( Self ) )". This will make it a validation error for fieldA to be filled and fieldB to be empty. You should probably specify a custom message for validation failure to clarify the problem for users when they encounter it.
          1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: calculations
            spundir

the 2nd solution is not working. I used this code

"IsEmpty ( fieldA ) or ( not IsEmpty ( A ) and not IsEmpty ( Self ) )"

and I followed the instructions

on the data entry when i commit it does nothing even if field A is filled

• 3. Re: calculations
              spundir

and thanks for the reply i can use any and all help in learning this software

• 4. Re: calculations
                comment

Try it this way?

1 of 1 people found this helpful
                • 5. Re: calculations
                  jbante