8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 9, 2012 7:26 AM by pnajar

Maps

pnajar

I track a number of ships through out the world. For each ship I track I get a periodic update that updates their Latitude and Longitude. Is their a way to project the current location as well as past locations on a map within Filemaker (12)?

• 1. Re: Maps
          brsamuel

Though I have no experience with this type of situation, I would bet that it can be done using a web viewer and Google Maps.

• 2. Re: Maps
            psijmons

pnajar,

attached is an example I received from via the FMSummit in Antwerpen, showing how to use the geocodes in a webviewer.

Take note of the custom functions that are used.

1 of 1 people found this helpful
            • 3. Re: Maps
              filemaker@i-absolute.com

Hi pnajar,

i'm working in a similar project and my starting point is the example file that psijmons attached.

Cheers, Fabio.

• 4. Re: Maps
                pnajar

Thank you very much for the example. It will take me a little while to understand it. Are there any additional explanations fort the design of the example?

• 5. Re: Maps
                  psijmons

In the example file, just look at the first 2 scripts (the other script were added by me just to do some testing), see how the webviewer is defined and look carefully at the custom functions.

You do not have to change anything in the code, just add to your solution:

• fields
                  • customfunctions
                  • scripts
                  • webviewer calculation

When you link it to your correct LNG / LAT geocode fields where appropriate.

Since you are already working with the geocodes and not addresses, you do not have to convert addresses, making it a lot simpler.

You need to feed an array of geocodes to HTML to display in the webviewer.

Here is an example HTML that is generated and will display the pointers right away:

<!DOCTYPE html>

<html>

<head>