11 Replies Latest reply on Nov 13, 2012 8:05 AM by andrewb

SQL Queries

andrewb

Hi All

I am new to running scripts within Filemaker 12

I would like to run the SQL Query in the screen shot attached

I don't want the result to go to XL unless I have to.

I would rather stay within Filemaker if I can.

Is this possible to do without the server version of Filemaker

Regards

Andrew B

Screen Shot 2012-11-12 at 20.33.47.png

• 1. Re: SQL Queries
          thomas_staehli

Hi Andrew,

I don't think you can actually do what you want by using the Execute SQL script step. This script step  (as far as I know), is used to be able to interact with other ODBC datasources, but not the current database itself.

To be able to script a query, you need first to have a layout based on the table occurence you want to search on. Then in the script you do this (this is a really basic example):

Go to Layout (choose the layout)

Enter find mode

set field (fieldname ; value you want to have)

perform find

The way the result will be displayed, really depends on how your layout is setup. If you want a list, you need the layout to be either in list view, or table view.

Now if you really want to use SQL commands, you can use the ExecuteSQL function (not script step) which will return a result in text format. For more information concerning this function, I recommend to have a look on http://www.filemakerhacks.com

They have a PDF reference document, and a lot of articles explaining what you can do with it

• 2. Re: SQL Queries
            andrewb

Hi Thomas

What I'm actually tring to do is create a unique description based on anwering a list questions with differnet answer.

So if I answer question 1 with 2nd option and answer question 2 with 4th option and answer question 3 with 9th option and so on

I then end up with a unique ID for each combionation of answers ie   02-04-09 and so on.