8 Replies Latest reply on Nov 25, 2012 12:50 AM by comment

Attempting to extract data from table (Web Scraping)

nwhawksfan

Inthe attempt to prevent me throwing my MacBook out the window, I am posting this here.

I am pretty new to Filemaker, and maybe trying to bite off more than I can chew...story of my ilfe..

I have used the GetUrl script and pasted html data into a field called "url_g". In this HTML I am attempting to get some data out of 4 tables and put them in their respective fields.

I have tried numerous scripts to accomplish this, and am really struggling. A sample of the HTML code is below:

<tr class="ysprow1" align="right" height="16"><td class="yspscores" align="left"> 2010-11</td><td class="yspscores" align="left">ATL</td><td class="yspscores">77</td><td class="yspscores">34:17 </td><td class="yspscores">6.5</td><td class="yspscores">13.5</td><td class="yspscores">47.7</td><td> </td><td class="yspscores">0.7</td><td class="yspscores">2.0</td><td class="yspscores">33.1</td><td> </td><td class="yspscores">3.0</td><td class="yspscores">4.1</td><td class="yspscores">72.5</td><td> </td><td class="yspscores">1.7</td><td class="yspscores">6.8</td><td class="yspscores">8.5</td><td> </td><td class="yspscores">3.3</td><td class="yspscores">2.6</td><td class="yspscores">1.3</td><td class="yspscores">1.6</td><td class="yspscores">2.8</td><td class="yspscores">16.5</td><td> </td></tr>

Every number in this code needs to be placed in a particular field. To start I was simply trying to parse this text to a separate field so I could attempt to parse each number.

Now, I am here begging for help. Is this even possible? I watched a video of a somebody doing it, but he made assumptions I did not understand. I have googled "parse data" and most of the examples are very simple.