6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 2, 2012 5:35 PM by frankcro

Creating a Report/Letter from Drop Boxes and Bubble Options

frankcro

Mission: To create a report/letter based on a variety of typical entries using drop boxes and bubble options.

Query: Is it possible to generate a paragraph of text by choosing from multiple drop boxes and bubble options in any order (such that a entry that is typically an intro sentence could be mid-paragraph or anywhere I choose)

Any insight or direction to where I can learn on my own would be greatly appreciated (obviously I am new to FileMaker, but willing to spend the time and effort to learn)

Thanks much!!

• 1. Re: Creating a Report/Letter from Drop Boxes and Bubble Options
          techt

It's certainly possible. I've done similar for a couple of clients. One had a layout with fields and drop down boxes with value lists that they would select or enter. There was a template of text with merge code fields (the first name field was represented in the template as %%FNM%%), and then using the Substitute function, FMP merged the selected fields into the template and created a resulting body of text in another large text field below in the layout. From there they could print, copy and paste into a document, email, or or just report in another layout. Another customer had more demanding requirements and for that we created documents in Word with similar merge field, saved them into a container field in FMP, then used 360Works Scribe plugin to merge the fields and create a new Word doc on the users screen. Note that the document can be merged into a Pages document, but the initial creation has to be done in Word.

HTH,

Tim

• 2. Re: Creating a Report/Letter from Drop Boxes and Bubble Options
            frankcro