8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2012 8:16 AM by dnovo

problem with concurrent users

dnovo

Hi there, I'm new to the developer community and I've an annoying issue with FM Server 11.

We've several DB's running on our FM server and everything works as it should be except for 1 DB.

It's an planning system for around 30 people and is based on a weekly system. 2 people make up the planning and around 10 look at it using, iPads, Macs and Windows machines.

The problem is that when 1 user switches to week 48 all the other users are forced to view 48, no mather the week they we're looking at.

If I'm correct, FM server opens an "instance" of the DB for every user, so they should all be able to view there own dataset right?

We've don't have this issue with any of the other DB's running on the same server.

Any suggestions?

• 1. Re: problem with concurrent users
          ch0c0halic

The field that selects the "week" should be defined to use Global storage, which makes it unique to every user. It should not be stored.

• 2. Re: problem with concurrent users
            PalmDBS

No, if they are opening a remote database on the server, they are all working on the live database.  It sounds like there is a field storing the user's current layout, and that field needs to be made into a global field so that the value stays unique to the user (with some small caveats).  Check against your other databases to ensure how the field is set up.

• 3. Re: problem with concurrent users
              fmpros

Concur, the key field that involved in the week relationship needs to be global.

William

• 4. Re: problem with concurrent users
                dnovo

Thanks for the responses, unfortunatly the problem remains.