4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2012 7:25 AM by robby@brays.net

New to Filemaker

robby@brays.net

Hello,

I am new to Filemaker Pro and have been attempting to build my first database. I run a Production Facility and am attempting to create a database to mangae and track Production Orders from the Job creation all the way to shipping.

I am having a hard time for some reason getting the new records to be created from inside a portal. I have set my portal up similar to the Bonsai Nursery template that comes with Filemaker. I am using a Line item table, related to a products table. In the realtionship, I have checked the allow records to be created through this relationship.

My portal is inside a set of Tabs. Does this effect the way the portal will behave?

Any help would be great.

Thanks

Robby

• 1. Re: New to Filemaker
          wimdecorte

The portal in a tab doesn't affect how it works.

What is it that does not work: no new records are created in the line items?  Can you give some detail on how you've constructed the relationship between the two?

• 2. Re: New to Filemaker
            acsadmin

If you have set it up to allow the relationship to create new records, then most likely the relationship is flawed; one side 'text', the other side 'number' perhaps, or the parent side field for the relationship is not generating a value (it needs to populate the child side with a value- if none exists- no child record).

• 3. Re: New to Filemaker
              robby@brays.net

Thanks for the help.

My Table Occurances are: Order, Order Line Item, Order Line item Product. 

The portal is set to retrieve my lineitem records all with the same order #, assembying a view of all the records in that order.  I am trying to be able to click in the portal and actually create the new records of products, in the line items table, but it won't let me add new items.