5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 13, 2012 1:36 PM by comment

Dealing with Fiscal Year data

shane0801

Good Morning everyone,

This is my first time posting to the forum so I apologize if this is in the wrong place, not enough data or if this has already been answered. I have been searching the web for the last few days trying to find a best option for my problem but have had no luck. So here it goes.

I am building a weekly Sales database for my current company. They have one in Access that is currently being used but I feel like it does not follow any of the best practices for a database. So I am rebuilding it in FM Pro 12. Within the new database the weekly sales totals for each department are imported from an xml file from our POS system. Everything is working just fine so far. I have the sales data relating to their proper departments and locations. The problem I am having is how to handle the date aspect of this database. Each sale entry has the week-ending date but the accounting department here uses 13 periods instead of 12 in a fiscal year. This causes the fiscal year to start on a different date from year to year. But this can change the period that each week will fall under.