10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 14, 2013 9:15 AM by DavidJondreau

Incrementing a field without using auto-enter

soberbob

I'm looking to increment a field from a previous record as the same type. For example if a user selects "Computer" from a value list it will auto generate the next hostname (e.g. ABC-1000, ABC-1001, ect...). This also brings up the previous record could be a Scanner, which will end up with a blank hostname. Keeping this in mind the hostname can't be generated on the previous record. I could use the auto-enter option, but not every record needs a hostname and I would prefer to keep all the assets in the same table as I feel it would make it easier for a portal to display a particular users assets. If this doesn't make sense please advise as I am new to FM and FM 12 in general.

Thanks

Rob

• 1. Re: Incrementing a field without using auto-enter
          taylorsharpe

First, let me say I don't fully understand what you are asking, but let me start trying.  You can create a field that in the field options under the Auto-Enter tab, has the serial number box checked and the next value be "ABC-1000" and increment by 1.  If you do this, the next record will be ABC-1001, ABC-1002.