1 Reply Latest reply on Dec 29, 2014 2:40 PM by StephenWonfor

Table to table copying or another technique?

woodeye

Hi, I am fairly new to filemaker and I am wondering how to go about solving an issue: I need to inventory samples and produce a report that shows which samples were pulled (discontinued), which samples were missing and finally a listing of samples that were present. There are upwards of 1,000 samples.

Would it be better to copy the records from the lookup table (contains a list of all the samples and whether they have been discontinued or not) to the Sample table and then simply mark a field for each sample whether it was pulled, missing or present?

Another option I think would be to add a "status" field to the lookup table. This field would be set to null for each record in the table prior to taking inventory. I would then need to create a report showing the results. The downside of this technique would be that I would only have a report to show the results, not a record.

Any suggestions or advice would be aprreciated.

Thanks,

john

• 1. Re: Table to table copying or another technique?
          StephenWonfor

John

I think this all depend on whether the inventory table needs to be permanent or would vary at different points in time.

You could make a reporting table and then use a script to populate that table with data based upon the reporting date.  You could then use the reporting table as a dynamic historical record of a sample's history.

Sample Table to Reporting table using id_sample and a global field ReportDate and allow creation of new records.

Set the Report Date to the date for the report then run a looping script like this to create the report records.

GoToFirstRecord

Loop

SetField(sample_REPORT|reportdate|::Status) to "Null"

GoToNextRecord(ExitAfterLast)

EndLoop

If you place the related Status Field on your layout you could now tag all items as to "Discontinued", "Missing" or "Present".