5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2013 6:05 AM by robby@brays.net

Calculations in a portal

robby@brays.net

Hello

Sorry but I am new to FileMaker Pro and am building my first database

What I am trying to do here is :

In a portal, calculate the quantity, in my line item table with a field ( number that represents a number of parts for this product) in my products table to give me a total of parts needed for this order. I cannot seem to get it to work for me. It keeps returning 0 for the calculation. The field I am selecting is of the related table order_lineitem_product , so I think the relationship is correct.

Thanks

• 1. Re: Calculations in a portal

Create a summary field in LineItems which would be Total of Quantity.  But I am unsure of your relationship.  It should be similar to:

LineItems::ProductID = Products::ProductID

Products ID should be auto-enter serial.

• 2. Re: Calculations in a portal
            comment

robby@brays.net wrote:

calculate the quantity, in my line item table with a field ( number that represents a number of parts for this product) in my products table to give me a total of parts needed for this order.

I don't think your question is clear enough. Usually, in a portal to line items you would see something like:

ProductID
            Product
            Quantity
            Price
            Extended Price
            101Widget152.3535.25
            354Gadget104.2542.50

Now, what exactly is the "total of parts needed for this order"? It seems like you want the sum of Quantity (15 + 10 = 25 in this example), which is a pretty meaningless number IMHO (unless someone counts the items on exit, or perhaps it has some meaning for shipping costs calculation?).

• 3. Re: Calculations in a portal
              robby@brays.net