5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2013 11:56 AM by mr_scott

StartingPoint - adding modules

jaylin

Greetings all. 

I am very excited about this forum, with its wealth of information and access to ready / willing experts. This was a factor in choosing FMr as our platform. I'm charged with developing a d/b and transitioning away from our current proprietary program.

StartingPoint is what I'm working with in FMr 12 Pro Adv. It being a free starter solution, I am wondering if there are any samples of what others have done, or anyone who'd want to share. The missing pieces for us are purchasing, inventory and serialized product tracking.  Anyone?

Also, any opinions on BaseElements, or other add-ons to consider?

I am a novice at this, a fact that was driven home when I looked at the under-belly of StartingPoint. I will appreciate any direction and resources offered!  

• 1. Re: StartingPoint - adding modules
          StephenWonfor

Jaylin

Welcome to the Filemaker World.  Base Elements is an excellent tool.  Also woud recommend Dracoventions 2EmpowerDeveloperAssistant - a truly great tool that should be part of FMP Advanced.

The daunting bit.  I have used Starting Point for a number of projects and have tended to follow this logic:

Duplicate a Table Occurence Group from a base table that is similar to your needs (Invoices/Purchase Orders) and park it on an empty space in the graph.  Do the same for InvoiceLineItems.

Look at all the tables and duplicate the one that has the most matches of fields you need.  Invoices and Purchase Orders are farily similar.

Rename fey fields as needed.

Go to your copied TOG and change the main table to use your new table as a base.

Change the related tables that use InvoiceLineItems to POLineItems and link appropriately.  Might be an idea to break the link to other tables in your new TOG untyil you need them - you can always refer to Invoices TOG to see what the link fields were.