11 Replies Latest reply on Jan 28, 2013 7:26 PM by bzoo2005

Cascading drop-lists, check boxes and exporting

bzoo2005

I'm new to Filemaker Pro (I am a somewhat experienced Access user) and am having some issues with basic db development, and am hoping for some guidance at the start of this database, instead of having to redo it a bunch of times due to silly mistakes...so here goes.

I am working on a database that will record a zookeepers (I work at a zoo) location and actions while working with assigned animals. So far, the tables I think I need are....Keepers (to have a list of keeper names, their info and activate/deactivate keepers), Animals (for the same reason), locations, and work performed. And finally a table to actually store each record...call it "events". I may also need a table to keep track of which keepers work with which animals...say "assignments"...but I'll definately take advice as to the overall structure of this thing...

My droplists question:

In Access, I was able to make "cascading drop lists" so that if you selected "Dan" you would only have a choice of animals from those that Dan is assigned to do. This was done by making a query that would pull up the info from said table, based on what was entered into the form...and populate the pulldown list from there. Is that done through the Inspector--when I select the source of the information, or is it best done via a portal? Can this be done at all?

My Check Boxes question: