1 2 Previous Next 24 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2013 8:20 AM by coachie

New to FM

coachie

Recently purchased FM 12 and can't seem to find solution to formatting 7 digit phone numbers. Would like to have 7 digits entered into a field that would re-format to XXX-XXXX. I am sure this this is easy but I have spent several hours with no progresss.

Thank you

• 1. Re: New to FM
          taylorsharpe

Let ( [

F1 = Table_Name::Phone_Field ;

F2 = Filter ( F1 ; "0123456789" ) ;

F3 = Length ( F2 ) ;

F4 = If ( F2 = 7 ; Left ( F2 ; 3 ) & "-" & Right ( F2 ; 4 ) ; F1 )

] ;

F4

)

• 2. Re: New to FM
            coachie

I am really new to FM.  This goes at:  validated function options?   anything else?  TY for your assistance

• 3. Re: New to FM
              taylorsharpe

No.... in the field options, click on the Auto Enter tab, not the validations.  Go down to the Auto Enter option for calculating the result and put this calculation in there.  Of course subsitute your real field name.  Then make sure to uncheck the box that says "Do not replace existing value of field".  Then you should be good to go!

• 4. Re: New to FM
                AlanStirling

Hi Taylor

I've always been taught to apply meaningfull names to all variables used in calculations as it helps avoid errors ...

F4 = If ( F3 = 7 ; Left ( F2 ; 3 ) & "-" & Right ( F2 ; 4 ) ; F1 )

Best wishes - Alan Stirling, London UK.

• 5. Re: New to FM
                  coachie

Now I am really upside down.....insert your joke here..........The field name in my db is Work Phone 2....where do I add/subtitute 'Work Phone 2' in the formula....which goes Auto Enter Tab > Data> Formula...........have you stopped laghing yet????  TY

• 6. Re: New to FM
                    taylorsharpe

The following should work for you:

Let ( [

F1 = Work Phone 2 ;

F3 = Length ( F2 ) ;

] ;

F4

)