3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2013 1:13 PM by flybynight

Looking for help for scripting

filocat

Hello,

I am a newcomer to FileMaker Pro and maybe already way in over my head, but it's worth a try.

I am creating a database for a small company selling "tools". What is important for them is always to be able to sort the tools, first by "manufacturer" and second by "categories". I have created 1 table (for the moment) with: manfacturer, category, tool name, tool number, price, etc ... . I will in time created additonal tables such as: customer, order, lineitem (I am basing myself on the FileMaker 12 training modules).

At this point, I think I need a script for the followings:

1. In the detail view layout (see below) which I want to use to create new records, I want to have is a "value list" for my "category" field, which is linked to the "value list" manufacturer?

Detail view.jpg

2. In the List view layout (see below), I want to be able to sort my list, again first by the manufacturer "value list", which will give me the corresponding category "value list"?

Liste view.jpg

I have been debating if I should created a "manufacturer" table now (I believe I will need later on if I want to be able to create invoices/orders by manufacturer) but that still leaves me totally perpelexed on how to link my category "value list" to a specific manufacturer.

I appreciate any help or reading recomendation on this.

Kind regards,

Philippe

• 1. Re: Looking for help for scripting
          BruceHerbach

Philippe,

Value lists come in two basic types.  Simple,  where you create the list and type in all of the values and Relational where you select a table::field and use the values in the field.  The relational can be based on a relationship to the current record and base the value in the field that is linked to.  So for the most part you don't need a script to create a value list.