10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2013 12:03 PM by micinfo

Hosting FMP files on the internet

micinfo

Lots of development experience on FMP within the LAN, but I'm a newbie when it comes to FMP security with WAN hosting of FMP files so...

I would VERY much appreciate if you could recommend the easiest way to set up secure hosting of FMP files so that we can access the db from client systems located remotely on the WAN. Specifically, how do I access the FM Server within our LAN from an FMP client located remote in the WAN (currently all computers in the LAN are DHCP running FMP(A)/FMS 11).

Sorry for the newbie question, I assume it's a relatively simple answer, but I don't want to take any chances with security, and so any guidance would be GREATLY appreciated.

- Phil.

• 1. Re: Hosting FMP files on the internet
          anothersmurf

Set up a VPN server inside your LAN; have clients outside the LAN connect first to the VPN, then they will be able to get to your FileMaker server as though they were inside the LAN (and network traffic will be encrypted between the client and the VPN server).

• 2. Re: Hosting FMP files on the internet
            micinfo

Since our database files have only been hosted within the LAN up to this point, they are not assigned password protection. Do I need to password protect each file when hosted via  the VPN, or is the VPN's login sufficient protection? I really want to avoid passwording every db file if at all possible.

• 3. Re: Hosting FMP files on the internet
              Aigaion

If you don't want to set up a VPN or if you want to give access to your database to persons who should not have VPN access, you can create FM "Launcher" files that easily connect any authorized user to the remotely hosted databases.  This db will have only one layout that features a button tiggering a script that provides remote FM client access over the WAN.