7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2016 2:14 PM by SteveMartino

Portal - Data Entry at "First row"

jameshoty

Greetings!

Is it possible to "reserve" the first row for adding new records instead of the last row within the portal setup environment. This is so that the users do not have to scroll down to the end to add new child records. This makes data entry quicker

Thanks & Cheers

James

FileMaker Developer since Oct 2012

• 1. Re: Portal - Data Entry at "First row"
          Bill_Harper

That's a great question, James, and I look forward to reading the subsequent replies as I, too, would like to know the answer.

In the meantime, maybe this related idea might also generate some added discussion.

The SalesLogix CRM that I've been using for 10+ years (which I'm now using as the "prototype" for an FMPro replacement database) employs a pop up menu window when you right-click inside of the "sub-form" portal area. One of the options in the menu list is to "Add a New Record." If selected, the "script" will open a new blank "data-entry" window with all the fields contained in the "child" table. Upon completion of your data entry, you click "Ok," then click a "Refresh" button and then the new record is listed on the first row... or a different row if the "sort order" is not based on date.

Personally, I like this so that the first row isn't blank. Also, as I think about your question (but don't know this for sure), I'm wondering if there might be extra coding steps required in order to keep that first row open compared to using a script to call or open a new portal record.... But haven't gotten that far into the development testing yet.

So, thanks for posting your question and hope to hear back from many of the "gurus" on what they think would be a "best practice" for this U.I. (user interface) feature.

Bill

• 2. Re: Portal - Data Entry at "First row"
            PSI

James,