11 Replies Latest reply on Apr 10, 2013 10:57 AM by Mike_Mitchell

Newbie needs help

bhavenpatel

Hello, I am a newbie to FileMaker. At my work, one of the older employees had created a little app using FileMaker and when he was let go, he changed some settings in the application, that does not let us export records from the application. Is there any way for us to enable it, so that we can export records and also make changes to the existing forms.

We also do not have the server console log in info and I found some help about reseting the login, however I am not sure that if I did that it will then stop working for everybody else that are using it to enter data.

Any help would be greatly appreciated..

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Newbie needs help
          TimGriffith

First- innocence before guilt... until the problem is identified susinctly you must assume that two states exist simultaneously... tampering AND malfunction (either by procedure or miscalculation) [the Schroedingers Cat hypothesis of software]. Only after isolating the issue can you determine malfeasence on the part of an operator, and even that would be difficult- maybe it was just an error, or lack of experience that created the problematic scenario. I think solving the issue would be more beneficial to your organization than assigning fault.

First you must supply more information: what version of FMP, what platform, is it a server-client environment, is the file a standalone (created with FMP advanced and not using a client version of FMP), is there password protection in place?

• 2. Re: Newbie needs help
            taylorsharpe

Do you have a User ID with Full Access privilege to the database, maybe something like "Admin" and a password.  If you have Full Access, then you can fix any such problems.  Also, what version do you have?  If it is a Pre-12 version, there are some 3rd part products to hack the database users to reclaim passwords or reset them. 

• 3. Re: Newbie needs help