14 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2017 8:10 AM by rivet

Copy Scripts or Script lines from Mac to Remote PC

andy@wirelesssm.co.uk

I have recently taken on a MAC OS customer and can't seem to find a solution to the fact that when connected to them remotely via MAC screen Share, I cannot copy whole scripts or even script lines from my iMac to their Mac Mini Server. As a mainly PC user, I have no problem performing this from my Windows PC to Remote desktop connections and don't understand why. I have access to the clipboard between the machines as I can copy text from one to the other but not script steps/scripts. Just to check, I also tried copying from my iMac to other customers windows servers over Remote Desktop and get the same issue.

I am new to MAC OS so perhaps I am missing something?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Copy Scripts or Script lines from Mac to Remote PC
          Stephen Huston

Couldyou use the "Import Script" functionality of the FMP application to move the script between open files on the two machines?

The clipboard-based copy process between machines may have trouble if the special content of FM script steps is using an app-specific FMP clipboard to maintain script info;  app-specific clipboards may not be passing the info to the other machine's FMP clipboard. I haven't seen a lot of this problem, but have seen some apps fail to pass clipboard info to certain other apps on Mac, and would expect any app-specific clipboard operations to fail across machines.

• 2. Re: Copy Scripts or Script lines from Mac to Remote PC
            LyndsayHowarth

The icons at the top LHS of the window are for sending and receiving clipboard

screenshare.png

- Lyndsay

• 3. Re: Copy Scripts or Script lines from Mac to Remote PC
              LyndsayHowarth

Oh... I reread that...

So you are saying the clipboard is not copying if it is FM scripts...

I do this... I did it yesterday.

Mind you, if I were needing to do a lot of it I would copy the file over....

- Lyndsay