10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2013 5:30 AM by gdurniak

Sharing FMP file on a hospital server

rkassis

Hello, I am pretty new to FMP and I have a few questions in regards to hosting FMP databases. I decided to purchase FMP a week ago as opposed to FMP server since I will be only sharing the database with 3 users. The database is for patient management in a sector for cancer research at a hospital. The only problem is I can only share the file via peer-to-peer hosting, which is not reliable. I would like to know if its possible if I can host the file via a hospital server so I dont have to store the file on a local desktop and keep it on for sharing. Any help would be great

Thank you

• 1. Re: Sharing FMP file on a hospital server
          mikebeargie

Yes, you can run the peer-to-peer by installing the filemaker pro program on the server, and opening the file to share it from there. The server will need it's own license of filemaker pro, along with yourself and your three users.

There are a LOT of advantages that you should consider with the server version, mainly the ability to backup your data without the need to take down the file. If I were you I'd lobby for a license of server edition asap.

• 2. Re: Sharing FMP file on a hospital server
            gdurniak

My brother is in a school with the same problem.  Since they already had FileMaker Server running,  he was able to plead with the IT Dept to host his file as well

But then he had to get a user name & password to access that file, to update or replace ( if edited off line ), since the folders are protected

This took weeks

otherwise it's probably easier to run it locally, with a mac mini, or even an old laptop

greg

> I would like to know if its possible if I can host the file via a hospital server so I dont have to store the file on a local desktop and keep it on for sharing

• 3. Re: Sharing FMP file on a hospital server
              wimdecorte

gdurniak wrote: