10 Replies Latest reply on Oct 1, 2013 10:47 AM by dougfsm

Filter portal based on radio button

beretta819

Hi everyone,

I am really new to FM and I am stuck. So... I have a contacts layout with a portal looking into a roles table which shows me all records related to the contact. There is a "Active" checkbox in the roles table.

I am trying to set up a portal filter based on a radio button on the contacts layout that says "Active Only" or "All".

I used a case statement to show only the records in the roles table that say "is active". That worked! I am stuck at then making the filter show all of the records. The table column can contain "active" or can be empty.

This is what I wrote into the filter dialog:

Case(

Contacts::Contact_Active_Option = "Active Only"; Roles::Roles_Active = "Is Active";

Contacts::Contact_Active_Option = "All"; Roles::Roles_Active = "Is Active" and "";

)

The first statement works, the second does not. So, when the user clicks the "All" option it should show the records with "Is Active" and the records that are empty.

Thanks for any suggestions you may have.

• 1. Re: Filter portal based on radio button
          LyndsayHowarth

You can do this by relationship.

On the LHS you have a field which is your radio button (global) on the RHS you have a field for status. That field calculates "All" in all records and "All¶Is Active" in those which are active.

HTH

- Lyndsay

• 2. Re: Filter portal based on radio button
            beretta819

Thanks for the quick response...

So I did as you explained and made it work, sort of. The results in the portal now match the records where the global is equal to the status, but the records are not equal to the related records for that contact. The original relationship between the Contacts and Roles is many to many and related through a join table. (LHS > ContactID - RHS > RoleID - Join > ContactFK - RoleFK)

How should I set up the relationship so the portal only shows the related records?

- Marc